Transition Meditation: In celebration of Art Not Terminal Gallery’s “Woman Speak”

Standard

With in me I hold close a light.  A power that can never diminish.  I walk in beauty through an inferno: fire in my hair- fire in my veins.  In the cool breath of the present my path is in the NOW.  The moon on the water dances and glimmers.  Yet I am as the moon: a constant light in the dark unknown.  To wax to wane-  change yet I am whole.  Dark moon cycle reborn to the light.  From the source to my mother to me and beyond we pass on a light that can never diminish.  The center of creation in the art of living.  I am only me- I am the universe.  I am reborn in the moment of the constant light of the changing moon.

The original illustration to “Transition Meditation” is now on display in the group exhibition of 40 artists:

“Woman Speak” at the Art Not Terminal Gallery. Opening night July 6 2013 on display though July. 

This poem and illustration were inspired by conversations about Zen, exploring elemental wisdom as it applies to art and by the chemo patients whose heads I covered in healing henna designs.  People ask me how long it takes to do a painting? It takes a life time of experience, conversations and friendships for each composition.

 

Image

These thoughts are based on the element of air.

About lisasstories2013

Lisa Noble is a published writer and artist. Her stories, poems and art work have appeared in the following: Poet's West Journal, The Sound, Sage Woman, The Beltane Papers, Mixed Metaphors by the Seattle Art Museum, Voices of Choice, 33 Angel Times, Metro's Paint me a Poem: as part of Metro's 1999 Poetry on Buses Lisa's poem: "Low on the North West Food Chain: was featured on several Metro Buses. Since 2006 Lisa has been a regular contributor to We'Moon publications. Lisa is a graduate of the Institute of Children's Literature and is the author of the 3-part Charman Chronicles series. Book one: "The Charman Chronicles: The Book of Fire" Is available on Amazon.com in book and Kindle form. (See Frieda Cramer's book review on the Kindle display!) Lisa's motto is: Support Literacy, Read to a Kid" thus the theme of this blog which will feature her favorite children's stories. Lisa has also self published two chapbooks and is the creator of the "Halfway to Babylon" project slated to come out in 2014. Lisa has shown her art work in group and solo exhibitions. Most recently being a part of the "Artful Henna" exhibition at the Art Not Terminal Gallery curated by Kree Arvanitas and Jeannie Lewis. View Lisa's work on her on-line shop: www.cafepress.com/lisanoble and on this blog.

Leave a Reply

